Georgian Group Architectural Awards: Call for Entries 2024

Oliver Flory News Leave a Comment

Applications are invited for the Georgian Group’s Architectural Awards. Established in 2003, the annual awards celebrate exemplary conservation and restoration projects in the UK and provide an opportunity to recognise those who have shown vision and commitment in restoring Georgian buildings and landscapes and creating new work in the spirit of the Georgian era. This year’s awards will be held in the autumn.

The award categories are: Restoration of a Georgian Country House; Restoration of a Georgian Interior; Restoration of a Georgian Building in an Urban Setting; Reuse of a Georgian Building; Restoration of a Georgian Garden or Landscape; New Building in the Spirit of the Georgian Era; New Building in a Georgian Context; The Diaphoros Award for projects which fall outside these categories; and a new award (first awarded in 2023), The Sustainable Innovation Award, for projects which demonstrate a sensitive approach to environmental issues within a Georgian context. Previous winners include the Painted Hall Greenwich, Pitzhanger Manor and the Great Pagoda at Kew, as well as numerous private houses.

Further information on the Awards and an application form can be found here.

Projects must be in the UK, Isle of Man or Channel Islands and must have reached practical completion by early summer. For the purpose of the Awards, the term ‘Georgian’ refers to the long eighteenth century from 1660-1840.

To enter, you will need to complete an entry form, available below; once you have downloaded the form it is able to be filled in electronically. Completed forms and supporting information should be returned to Oliver Flory, General Manager: For large files, WeTransfer or a similar file sharing service should be used. Applicants are welcome to enter multiple projects however one application form should be used per project.

The deadline for applications for the 2024 awards is 1 May.

Schemes must be in the UK, Isle of Man or Channel Islands and must have reached practical completion by early summer of the year of entry. For the purpose of the Awards, the term ‘Georgian’ embraces the long eighteenth century from 1660 to 1840.

The owner’s consent is a condition of entry.

Click here to download an application form for the Georgian Group Architectural Awards 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.