Architectural Awards

The Georgian Group’s Architectural Awards, held annually for the last fifteen years, celebrate exemplary conservation and restoration projects in the UK. Traditionally taking place in November each year, they provide an opportunity to recognise those who have shown vision and commitment in restoring Georgian buildings and landscapes.

The awards did not take place in 2018 but will be relaunched in the autumn of 2019. We hope that this change of season will enable us to reach a wider audience and to celebrate better the important work done by those who have helped to restore the Georgian environment.

Enter our next awards

We are now accepting entries for our 2019 Architectural Awards with a deadline of 31 May 2019 and an Awards ceremony in October 2019.

To enter, you will need to complete an entry form. Completed forms and supporting information can be posted to:
Architectural Awards
The Georgian Group
6 Fitzroy Square
or scanned and emailed to

Schemes must be in the UK, Isle of Man or Channel Islands and must have reached practical completion by early summer 2019. For the purpose of the Awards, the term ‘Georgian’ embraces the period of classical ascendancy in Britain and is taken to mean 1660–1840.

The award categories are: Restoration of a Georgian Country House; Restoration of a Georgian Interior; Restoration of a Georgian Building in an Urban Setting; Reuse of a Georgian Building; Restoration of a Georgian Garden or Landscape; New Building in the Classical Tradition; New Building in a Georgian Context. However, we are pleased to consider entries which fall outside of those categories.

The owner’s consent is a condition of entry.

Download an Entry Form

Previous winners

The Georgian Group’s last Architectural Awards took place in 2017. 

Restoration of a Georgian Landscape
Winner – Lowther Castle, Cumbria
Highly Commended – Duncombe Park, Helmsley, North Yorkshire

New Building in the Classical Tradition
Winner – Williamstrip Chapel, Gloucestershire
Highly Commended – Harris Manchester College Clock Tower and Gate, Oxford

Restoration of a Country House
Winner – Pitshill House, West Sussex
Highly Commended – Sandycombe Lodge, Twickenham; Glynde Place, Lewes, East Sussex

Restoration of a Georgian Interior
Winner – Marchmont House, Berwickshire
Highly Commended – Mount Stewart, Co. Down, Northern Ireland; Euston Hall, Suffolk

Restoration of a Georgian Town House
Winner – 14 Fournier Street, London
Highly Commended – 44 Long Street, Tetbury, Gloucestershire; 9 Somerset Place, Bath

Diaphoros Prize
Reads Cutlers, 4 Parliament Street, Dublin, Ireland

Special Commendation
Burn Croft, High Street, Barrow upon Humber, Lincolnshire

Object in a Georgian Context
Winner – Grimsthorpe Gates, Grimsthorpe Castle, Lincolnshire
Highly Commended – Sir John Soane’s Masonic Ark, The Grand Temple, Freemasons Hall, London; Stowe Gothic Cross, Stowe, Buckinghamshire; Holkham cricket Pavilion, Holkham Hall; Blandford Parish Church Cupola Project, Blandford Forum, Dorset

More information on our 2017 awards, and all of these projects, can be found here

Share this Post