Call for Entries: Architectural Awards 2021

The Georgian Group Announcements & general news, Awards, grants & funds news, News

Applications are invited for the Georgian Group’s Architectural Awards, sponsored by Savills. Established in 2003, the annual awards celebrate exemplary conservation and restoration projects in the UK and provide an opportunity to recognise those who have shown vision and commitment in restoring Georgian buildings and landscapes and creating new work in the spirit of the Georgian era. This year’s awards will be held in October.

The award categories are: Restoration of a Georgian Country House; Restoration of a Georgian Interior; Restoration of a Georgian Building in an Urban Setting; Reuse of a Georgian Building; Restoration of a Georgian Garden or Landscape; New Building in the Spirit of the Georgian Era; New Building in a Georgian Context. The judging panel will also consider projects which fall outside these categories. Previous winners include the Painted Hall Greenwich, Pitzhanger Manor and the Great Pagoda at Kew, as well as numerous private houses.

David Adshead, Director of the Georgian Group, said:

‘While the coronavirus pandemic sadly prevented the possibility of our staging the Architectural Awards in 2020, we are aware that a great deal of wonderful work has been undertaken up and down the country. We hope that owners, architects and craftsmen, whether involved in grands projets or more modest schemes, will now throw their hats into the ring and reveal to the public just what they have accomplished in difficult circumstances.’

John Goodall, Architectural Editor at Country Life and chair of the Awards judging panel, said:

‘The Georgian Group Awards promise to help lift our spirits in difficult times. They will not only remind us of the extraordinary projects of construction and restoration that are still being undertaken in the face of so many challenges, but also of the variety, importance and value of our Georgian heritage.’

How to Enter

We are now accepting entries for our 2021 Architectural Awards with a deadline of 1 May 2021 and an Awards ceremony in October 2021.

An entry form is available via the button at the bottom of this page. Once you download the form, it is able to be filled in electronically.

Completed forms and supporting information should be returned to Rachel Reese, General Manager: For large files, please use WeTransfer or a similar file sharing service.  

Schemes must be in the UK, Isle of Man or Channel Islands and must have reached practical completion by early summer 2021. For the purpose of the Awards, the term ‘Georgian’ embraces the long eighteenth century from 1660 to 1840.

The owner’s consent is a condition of entry.

Download an Entry Form

Share this Post